Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 13th, 2008

Too dark for pictures

I should have known that it was really too dark for taking pictures.

What do you think Maggie?

dsc04497.jpg

Yeah, I thought so too. So I can only share one for now.

dsc04491.jpg

I’ll take some more in the morning when there is actual daylight.

The quilt has been washed but not blocked, which is why the binding looks a little ripply. It’s my cousin’s wedding quilt, and if it hadn’t snowed and blown this weekend, she would have gotten it. As it is, she’ll have to wait until this weekend.

My heart is breaking tonight for my online friend Gina. Gina is on vacation in Hawaii and is trying to get home, her son was killed in a car accident last night, and her other son was in the car and is in the ICU.

Suzanne

Read Full Post »

Well, I lied earlier.  One of the boys stayed home.  Again.  After talking to the school nurse, we decided on a trip to the doctor.  She thinks he’s probably just got a weird stomach virus and if he isn’t better in a week we’ll have to go back to search further for a cause.  Of course, an hour after our trip to the doctor he was perked up and feeling fine.  Whatever he’s got has been pretty weird, because he’ll be fine for several hours and then the next thing I know, he’ll be lying on the couch curled up complaining that his tummy hurts.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll get the house to myself for the day.

And then we’ll have a 3 day weekend, as Friday is a professional development day for the teachers.   Yippee.

Hey, look:  it’s another layout of my nephew, Colin.  This is the 4th and final lesson in my Photoshop class.  There are some other challenges and stuff I’ll do, but it’s sad to see this class end, as I have learned a ton and had a very good time doing it.

This one is actually a 2 page layout — if it were to get printed, I’d print it out as 2 separate 12 by 12 inch pages.

week-4-1.jpg

The tags under the pictures just have the words to “Happy birthday”

The brown oval tag is a quote from an unknown author that reads “Each birthday is a new beginning, full of promise and opportunity and the chance to make dreams come true.”

I wasn’t actually there for his 1st birthday, these are pics that my sister sent me.  I think it turned out pretty cute.

A lot of the things I’ve learned from this class don’t actually show up on the page — or aren’t really obvious without seeing the original photos.  Tips for adjusting levels and colors and sharpening and stuff like that have made a huge difference in the appearance of the photos.  Plus, shortcuts and easy ways to do things that I’ve been doing the hard way — that’s the most important kind of stuff I’ve been learning.

I am going to post some quilt pictures, but I have to go, um…take the pictures first….

TTFN-

Suzanne

Read Full Post »

The answer

A copule of you commented that you aren’t really “math people” and the thing is that I’m not sure this is really a math problem.  Well, it is an equation but the solution doesn’t require you to know any special math functions.  What you need, and what I was unable to do, is to think outside the box.

In order to make this equation true:

5 + 5 + 5 = 550

You need to add a short straight line to the first plus sign to turn it into the number 4, which gives you the following equation:

545 + 5 = 550

Carla gets the virtual prize for figuring it out last night!

Ironically, my husband works with a bunch of engineers and he was the only one of his coworkers that figured it out.  They were quite impressed that Joe got it when they couldn’t.  Joe is definitely an out-of-the-box thinker — he has always marched to his own drum beat.  He’s very bright, but he doesn’t always learn or do things the way his teachers think he ought to.  Luckily, he’s had some great teachers who have been willing to figure that out.

Speaking of teachers, guess who gets to go to school today!  For a full day!  Yippee!

Better get moving so I can get them there on time…

Suzanne

p.s.  I’ll be back later with quilting and scrapbooking content.  Stay tuned!

Read Full Post »