Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 1st, 2007

PIF and NaBloPoMo

PIF 

Pay It Forward:

I’ve seen this on a ton of blogs, and have never been in time to sign-up, but finally I managed it over on SkybellArts 

Here are the rules:

I will send a handmade gift to the first 3 people who leave a comment on my blog requesting to join this PIF exchange. I don’t know what that gift will be yet and you may not receive it tomorrow or next week, but you will receive it within 365 days, that is my promise! The only thing you have to do in return is pay it forward by making the same promise on your blog.

NaBloPoMo

National Blog Posting Month

If you sign up, all you have to do is post to your blog once a month.  I’m pretty close to doing that, but I have some ideas about how to extend/change/continue my use of my blog, and I’m going to use November as an opportunity to play with those ideas.

Am I crazy?  Of course I am!  But you already knew that….

Suzanne

Read Full Post »

Farm girl

I’m married to a farmer, but that doesn’t mean I know anything about farming. I ask the same dumb questions every year. I don’t even know what I don’t know about farming.

But my husband loves it, and so I take my yearly trip in the combine with him, and I go for days in the fall and spring saying “Hello, good-bye” as he comes home from work and heads out to do what he really loves. He really doesn’t love his deskjob that much — he doesn’t feel like he accomplishes anything. But in the combine — he can look behind him and see what he’s done and feel like he’s made a difference.

That and the fact that he is OUTSIDE and he GETS DIRTY. What more could a guy ask for?

And so, I give you, Suzanne’s Combine Ride 2007

dsc03340.jpg

I love watching the corn stalks as the shiver down through the choppers on the corn head.

dsc03344.jpg

Just like PigPen, the combine leaves a cloud of dust and debris in its wake.

dsc03345.jpg

Can you tell what he started to say?  That would be “Don’t take my picture”

dsc03354.jpg

Amazing that it starts out at the front as cobs of corn attached to stalks and ends up coming out as individual kernels.

dsc03361.jpg

Back to work he goes: “Good-bye honey, it was fun riding with you! ”

TTFN-

Suzanne

Read Full Post »

Last-minute Lucy here

Yesterday morning at school, I saw my sister-in-law and her daughter dressed in their cute Halloween t-shirts from Old Navy, and I wished I had one, too.  Every year I think this:  I don’t really want to wear a costume, but it would be nice to have a cute shirt to wear.

I went home and didn’t think much more about it until I was in bed trying to nap at about 12:30.  It suddenly dawned on me that I could MAKE a cute t-shirt.

So, I did:

dsc03374.jpg

I sewed strips of fabric together to make the candy corn, then cut the shape out of the strip set.  I dusted off the embroidery unit for my Bernina to do the words.  I used an older black t-shirt that probably needed to be retired (a few pin holes in the front…)

First, though, I called my husband and asked if I could borrow one of his grungy t-shirts to test my tension.   I don’t have any knit fabric in my fabric stash, and I didn’t want to stitch right on the shirt and maybe have it be messy….

I can just hear the “Oh help me, what is she up to now” tone in his voice….but he agreed (and now the bottom of one of his undershirts says “trick or treat,”  thanks honey!)

I could have made the candy corn a smidge smaller, but that’s OK — it’s an old black shirt that shirt that I’ll wear, what, once a year?

From conception to completion:  1 hour and 10 minutes.  And I had 50 minutes to spare before I had to be at school for the Halloween Party!  So, not even last-minute, just…close to last-minute!  LOL!

Next year I’m going to make my husband a t-shirt that says “Go Ceiling”***

I have to go get groceries, but I’ll post more later — I spent a few hours in the combine on Tuesday and took some cool pictures.

Suzanne

***He’s going to be a Ceiling Fan!!!

Read Full Post »