Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 20th, 2007

HOT water

First, I do have to say that I KNOW that I am EXTREMELY lucky to have had hot water for showers, and that it didn’t take any longer than it did to get a new water heater installed.

I’m also very grateful that I am able to afford a new hot water heater.

As several people have pointed out — I need to be (and am) especially grateful that it decided to burst well in advance of Thanksgiving, so that the problem could be resolved BEFORE the guests arrive.

I’m also grateful that it wasn’t any worse than it was — the only casualty was a nasty carpet remnant that probably should have been removed years ago….

And lastly: I’m very grateful to HAVE a new hot water heater, even if the plumber did leave the temperature turned up to SCALDING. Woo-wee…that was HOT water.

I did not accomplish a whole lot today (other than doing all of the dirty dishes that had piled up, and doing 3 loads of laundry….), but I did FINALLY finish the embroidered quilt I’ve been working on. Well, finished the quilting. Most of htis quilt went very quickly, but the cross-hatching of the final borders seemed to drag on forever.

I knew that nothing was going to show on the black floral, so I opted for cross-hatching on the outer border and on the sashing.

The embroidery got outlined, the background filled with stippling, and there is a tiny bit of continuous curve quilting on the inside of the embroidery.

These aren’t the best of pictures, as I took them tonight in less than optimal lighting conditions, but hopefully you can see the way the embroidered sections really pop.  I love how it turned out.

dsc03437.jpg

dsc03445.jpg

Now, to bind and label it.  First, I have to try to finish the hand-binding on my niece’s birthday present.  Tomorrow is her birthday….I have until tomorrow night…to finish about half of the work….

Oh, and get the house ready for Thursday’s company.  She might not get to keep her quilt tomorrow, as I may not manage completion….

Better go brush my teeth and head to bed!

Suzanne

Read Full Post »